Unbound

Available At:

About

 For fans of Hannah Whitten and Rebecca Ross, Unbound is a gender-bent reimagining of the classic tale of a monstrous beast and the beauty determined to tame it, set against the lush backdrop of Irish mythology and folklore. 

Rozlyn Ó Conchúir is used to waiting - waiting for the king, her father, to relent and allow her to leave the solitude of her tower; waiting for the dreaded and mysterious Beast of Connacht to at last be defeated; waiting for the arrival of the man destined to win her heart and break the terrible curse placed on her and her land. So when she meets Jamie - a charming and compelling suitor - she allows herself to hope that her days of solitude and patience are over at long last. 

But as she finds her trust betrayed - and newer, more sinister threats arising - Rozlyn learns that some curses are better left unbroken ... 

Praise for this book

“Steeped in Irish folklore and mythology, Healy’s tale grabs readers by the hand, guiding them on a journey filled with delicious, gut-wrenching twists and turns.”
“The worldbuilding is fun and the tense, charged relationship between Jamie and Rozlyn keeps the pages turning…Healy should win some fans with this one.”
"If you are like me, and you often find feisty female protagonists never quite spiky enough to be believable, let me introduce you to Rozlyn of Unbound... the rich seams of Irish mythology are woven in with tales and encounters which left me excited to learn more about their original myths. But it is Rozlyn who drives this novel. Broken, angry and independent to the nth degree, I felt her pain and dilemmas in the marrow of my bones. A must read for fans of Hannah Whitten and Ava Reid."
"Unbound is a decadent eldritch fairy tale that ensnares the reader in its dark and tangled web. Healy's sumptuous prose brings Celtic myths to life and retains a dreamlike quality even while plunging into the nightmares that lurk within the human heart. Hurray for monstrous protagonists and the men that love them!"
"A heartfelt story of monsters and myth, love and curses, and a heroine coming into her own ferocious power. Readers who love thorny, twisted romance and Celtic legend will be enchanted by Unbound."
“The resulting take, told in chapters alternating between Rozlyn’s and Jamie’s points of view, is [a] delightful, heart-clenching story of love and betrayal… An impressive feat of worldbuilding full of unexpected twists for fans of monstrous women.”